April Haiku Month, Day 6: Fire (MY FURY)


I AM WARNING YOU, I WAS POSSESSED WHEN I WROTE ALL THESE HAIKU. I WAS POSSESSED BY A FIRE, A FIRE I TRY TO HIDE. A FIRE YOU WILL BUT FEAR UNLESS YOU PICK MY SIDE.

I must warn, this is a highly inefficient post from me. Written with shaking senses and trembling fingers. Pardon my naivety.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

(firstly, my feminist fire)

exploited women . . .
their fire will consume any man
if they choose it

~ ~ ~

(Secondly, my usual trivial madness)

(Long long ago)

a dark cave in woods . . .
woman frustrated at husband
hurls rock at wall. spark!

~ ~ ~

(Ancient times in the east)

a forgotten myth . . .
legendary golden dragon
breathes fire, gives wishes

~ ~ ~

(Again, my feminist madness)

(Ancient times in southern middle-east)

one sita devi . . .
passes agnipareeksha
yet exiled, her pain!

. . .

mahapurushotham . . .
his unforgivable mistake
cost him his true love

(I don’t want to move on from my pain and tears for Sita Devi. But I must. I must say, “After such a righteous life, WHY RAMA! WHY???”)

~ ~ ~

(The so called civilized times. Today.)

MY FURY!!!

. . .

he set her ablaze
she couldn’t bring him money
he set her ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
she did not love him back
he set her ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
she gave birth to a girl
he set her ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
he was driven mad with lust
he set her ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
his dominance was threatened
he set he ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
it was pure malevolence
he set her ablaze

. . .

he set her ablaze
his arrogance ……

~ ~ ~

I cannot continue. ‘he set her ablaze’ is actually happening in India. And there are other forms of ‘setting women ablaze’ like trafficking, female foeticide, domestic violence, marital rapes, eve-teasing, sexual innuendo aimed at women in public places, in movies and in countless other ways.

I am sorry, but I am possessed with anger, with sorrow. Unless I channelize my anger, I fear I might be consumed by it. Such is the rage I am in. This post might be disturbing emotionally, but I don’t know if I could live without writing this tonight. Every day I see or hear about atrocities against women, I am driven mad by them. Literally mad. What can you and I do about it? Make the women we know in our lives stronger? Tell them to be more careful? Or to dress appropriately? YES AND NO!! Since WE MEN aren’t going to stop this any soon, WOMEN have to be on guard. And one day…………………….

And so.

exploited women . . .
their fire will consume any man
if they choose it

~ ~ ~

I deliberately let the syllable count stay wrong. I can’t look for errors in metrics and format while the theme of the text has an overwhelming effect on the mind and heart. This is an inefficient post. An inefficient attempt at venting my emotions. But I cannot do better at this moment. I do not have the sufficient strength to follow through my anger nor do I have the people who stand by my side without being scared. But I am only bidding my time. I shall master my anger.

~ ~ ~

This post is submitted at Haiku Heights for the prompt fire.

18 Comments

  1. This is something that you are obviously quite passionate about. I’m glad you are able to channel your emotions into poetry. Hopefully, times will change for the better.

  2. Jayanth, I think you did a great job of channeling your anger. You got your point across to Teresa, Pranitia, and me. You appreciate women and you feel they deserve respect. That is very admirable. 🙂

    1. Indeed. Yes. I figured that out too. Their gentle generosity is now their undoing. I hope they redden their eyes for brief periods, the world exploits more under a woman’s forgiveness.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. It is through emotion that we write what’s most honest and powerful. I hope you never control the emotion you express through your writing. Too many of us do. Thanks for sharing your beautiful haiku.

  4. Your passion and emotion and frustration really came through in this set.
    It is tragic that women are still treated the way they are, but so long as there are men like you around there also still is hope. Keep the fire alive.

About to comment? Pick the lines you like....

