Introverts, Extroverts and Queues


waiting in a queue . . .

ponders squeezing into the gap,

moves, loses his spot too.

~ ~ ~

How often have we not gone through this ‘fruit of impatience‘ thing in our lives. Be it at the supermarket we went to buy groceries from or for the theater performance of an artist we admire. We wait for a considerable amount of time in the queue and irritably decide that we have waited more than what we deserve and try to force our way through the queue. Although, many of us only manage to squander even the spot that we held until then. Nevertheless, there are also people who manage to get ahead in a queue like a snake slithering across a maze of rocks. These people usually are extroverts. The reason why I say they are extroverts is that when introverts(I am one) lose it in a queue, they prefer not to speak out and even not claim their original spot. They accept their stupidity and bad timing. Whereas extroverts, they who can speak to anyone, anywhere and about any shit, manageΒ what we introverts cannot. And you know I am not just talking about queues here.

~ ~ ~

Linked to Haiku HeightsΒ for the promptΒ Squeeze.

14 thoughts on “Introverts, Extroverts and Queues

  1. It’s an interesting hakiu Jayanth….and let me express that some introverts show a great strength in their eyes and people are just not able to match their gaze and son’t try to interfere with them… being introvert can mean a lot of internal strength without a compelling need to show-off…just a POV..think over..

    RS:)

    • I know sir, I am introverted actually. In fact, I first wrote the introvert part using words like ‘us,we,ours’ referring to our lot. But then I felt people might get on my back for expressing it, so i changed them to generalized ‘they,them’. And you described one of the introvert’s traits very well. πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting, Rameshji!

  2. Hahaha!! πŸ™‚ Jayanth you are back with a bang and that is exactly what happens in the bus queue and at my Bank!! πŸ˜€ Gives a good belly laugh!! πŸ˜€

  3. This is a great perspective…I have some varied views about introverts and extroverts and I don’t wish to start a riot here…i believe I am an introvert but I usually make friends easily and chatter a lot and also stand up for myself where needed and air out my opinion when it matters. Still that does not make me an extrovert…I still reserve the right to put myself out there…you know!

    • Yes Yes, I know! πŸ˜€ and yes, sometimes we need to put it out there so that people don’t plunder our silence and calm attitude! Thanks for visiting! πŸ˜‰

    • Haha, maybe! Well, I was just generalizing the whole thing! There always exception to everything said and done! And sometimes that’s good! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Well I am an introvert but i can speak just to keep the conversation going. But in the queues i behave as written , I do not make a noise, just let it be unless someone comes over on my feet πŸ™‚ Visiting from the UBC.

  5. I totally understand how it feels, used to be the shy quiet person until I realised I had to speak up in my own interest… NIcely expressed Jayanth πŸ™‚

    • Yes yes, as much as we keep silent to dodge unnecessary arguments, we must time to time open up because we might be taken for granted and at some point, we don’t want to keep shut anymore! Thank you for visiting! πŸ™‚

About to comment? Pick the lines you like....

