I Have Dreams About Stats. And Nightmares!


Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection

Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it. Photographers, artists, poets: show us ‘connections’.


Its been 4 days since I came to know about The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt. Every day after the first one, I wait for my clock to scrawl to 17:30. And a few minutes before the time, I start hitting the refresh button on the Daily Post tab like an excited kid, returning home after school, frantically banging the elevator button unable to control the excitement caused by his impending birthday party. And then, eventually, the update happens and I calm down. So, stats today, eh?

I guess most bloggers are obsessed with stats, they should be. I feel a great rush of satisfaction when someone likes or comments on my blogposts. And I feel an urge to do better looking at how many visitors left my blog without critiquing my work. But the ratio of people who visit your blog post and the people who critique it is depressingly large, unless of course you are an over-the-top write/blogger, in which case you deserve such attention.

I have to say my blog hasn’t done well, not until recently when I started writing Haiku, a japanese form of poetry, while participating in month long journeys with other writers. That helped me get over my recurring writer’s block, along with earning a regular reader pool.  Actually, I started with writing poems, then ventured a little into fiction but couldn’t do much there except this Harry Potter FanFiction called Goodbye Hedwig. It is one of the top posts on my blog and you can understand why, because its Harry Potter. And there is this meme I created – Inner Peace which got popular too, mostly because of the combination of a general philosophical longing and the adorable cute panda. The most notable of all is a poem named From The Bowels Of Heaven that got published on  Haunted Waters Press website, an online literary journal.

Also, I think one has only themselves to blame if their blog doesn’t get many visitors. You must be a good reader to be come a good writer, as it is said. I know it is true, and I have been visiting many blogs and reading a lot. Not because of what I’d get, but because I believe in what that saying meant. It is similar to the general philosophy, you must first give, with your heart, in order to be eligible to expect something for yourself. So, as the post title suggests, I do dream about becoming a famous blogger, frequently read and admired. But it is not going to happen just like that and probably knowing it is the first step and the way to go. And yeah, I want to be a published author someday. And if I can squeeze-in a little more from my blunt desire, without coming off as aloof, I’d want to become a full-time author traveling places to sink in the nature and unleash his worlds and creatures of imagination into the ink.

Thanks for reading through this post, I hope it wasn’t hard. *Bazinga* I know it was. Some useful suggestions and tips would help me a lot, so feel free to destroy the comments section.

 

12 Comments

About to comment? Pick the lines you like....

