April Haiku Month, Day 1: Ascent


(ascent of nature)

a mere seed rules earth

grows slow and strong, then conquers.

ascends throne of sky . . .

~ ~ ~

(ascent of a bird)

mother bird looks down

the hatchlings need nourishment.

a flight into dawn . . .

~ ~ ~

(ascent of a woman)

abused heart

lets out battle cry.

blazing sword . . .

~ ~ ~

(ascent of a man)

infinite power

to exploit; yet he stands back.

wields humility . . .

~ ~ ~

This post is submitted at Haiku Heights for Day 1 prompt – Ascent. This post is also a part of my NaPoWriMo 2013 journey, , my first. I am also trying to take up the A-to-Z Blogging challenge which requires bloggers to write a post everyday during all April. I will try to write separate posts for NaPoWriMo and A-to-Z Blogging Challenge IF possible. I sure want to.

I am going to share your everyday Haiku on my Facebook Page. Keep tabs on it too.

Thank you all for reading my haiku. I’ll be reading yours too, and I enjoy each one of your haiku. Your comments always help me improve and motivate myself to keep going.

Thank you and keep writing! 

~ ~ ~

Tweet me at @WeOweWomen.

31 thoughts on “April Haiku Month, Day 1: Ascent

    • It is so humbling to hear such kind words from you, Rameshji. Thank you very much. I still remember you guiding me through my early days of Haiku last year. I am very grateful for your help. And the haiku journey with you was and is always a beautiful and fantastic experience for me.

  1. Very cool, I like your AtoZ theme. I like how you have several haikus for your theme as well, it’s so diverse. Keep up the good work!

    Check out my A-to-Z challenge blog, Katkatravels.com!

  2. I particularly liked Ascent of Man/Woman; “Wields humility”, contradictory terms that work well here! This poetry writing takes a lot of practice!

About to comment? Pick the lines you like....